![]()
THE ALEXANDER N. CHARTERS
LIBRARY OF RESOURCES FOR
EDUCATORS OF ADULTSat Syracuse University
![]()
Alexander N. Charters
"Adult Education, as a relatively new thrust into the higher education enterprise, is continually striving to be recognized as a field of study and practice. As a way to foster this development, Syracuse University made a conscious commitment to mold Adult Education into the very essence of the university. This effort is called mainstreaming ..."
"... This is being written at a time when Syracuse University is recognizing the 75th anniversary of the establishment of the Evening Session in 1918. It records my reflections of one who was Assistant to the Dean (1948-1950), Assistant Dean (1950-1952), Dean of University College (1952-1964) and Vice President for Continuing Education (1964-1973). All of this occurred when mainstreaming of Adult Education into the academic life of SyracuseUniversity was a major thrust of the University. In general there has been some movement toward the mainstreaming of Adult Education in many agencies, but at Syracuse University there has been a conscious commitment to this development. "
-- from the preface of Reflections on Mainstreaming of Adult Education: Into the Academic Life of Syracuse University 1948-1973 by Alexander N. Charters, © 1996
Adult and Continuing Education Resources at Syracuse University
Collections
- History of the Charters Library: how the library came to be
- General Information: types of material, origins of various media
- Descriptions of the manuscript collections: detailed finding aids for the 55+ manuscript collections
- Acknowledgements
Related Resources
"Family tree" of adult education organizations
- "Recollections of the Metropolitan Committee on Adult and Continuing Education" [Syracuse, NY] (1991, full text)
- "Reflections on Mainstreaming of Adult Education into the Academic Life of Syracuse University 1948 - 1973" (1996, full text)
- UNESCO Links and Alexander Charters Memorandums regarding UNESCO (1997, full text)
Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE), selected documents (various dates, full text)
- Related publications (about the Charters Library collections, or written or sponsored by Syracuse University)
- Academic Institute for Educators of Adults (AIEA) at Syracuse University, directed by Scott Shablak
Research Grants
The Alexander N. Charters Adult Education Research Grants-in-Aid Program provides funding for researchers interested in exploring the history and practice of adult education using the Charters Library collections. Up to $4,000 worth of grants-in-aid are awarded each year. The actual amount of each award depends upon the scope of the research outlined in the applicant's proposal. For more information, a copy of the brochure, or instructions on how to apply, please see the Grants page.
Support the Library
Processing collections and acquisitions, maintaining existing collections, and providing online access to the material in the Charters Library requires substantial resources. If you would like to make a financial contribution to the Charters Library, please contact the Special Collections Research Center (below).
Donations of material
The Charters Library continues to collect material related to adult education. If you would like to discuss donating your papers or those of your organization to the Charters Library, please contact the Special Collections Research Center (below).
Contact Us
Syracuse University Library
Special Collections Research Center
E.S. Bird Library, Room 600
Syracuse University
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010Telephone: (315) 443-2697
Fax: (315) 443-2671
Website: http://scrc.syr.edu
Email: scrc@syr.eduThe Department of Special Collections is open Monday through Friday, 9 A.M. to 5 P.M.
![]()
![]()
© 1999 - Syracuse University Library
Ask a question | Request a visit
URL: http://libwww.syr.edu/digital/guides/a/AlexanderNCharters/index.html
Last modified: June 02, 2008 02:57 PM